A Trip to the Boston Marathon – Part 1

Coming in for a Landing - Boston's Logan Airport

Coming in for a landing at Boston’s Logan Airport

At the end of April, I was able to combine travel and running when my daughter, my mother and I traveled to Boston for me to run the Marathon.  The trip was awesome, the race was amazing, and the whole experience ranks one of my top 5 lifetime highlights!

We arrived on Saturday for the Monday race, and spent the day in Boston,

The Boston Common

The Boston Common

and at the race expo. The atmosphere at the expo was so positive and exciting.

Boston Marathon Expo

Bib Pick up outside the expo

Everyone seemed so happy and proud to be there.  At the bib pick up outside the expo, many people were  having their picture taken in front of a large Marathon banner.

Family pic at the Bib Pick up

Family pic at the Bib Pick up

Runners were accompanied by their families or racing buddies.  We made a game of guessing which family member was the runner.  It was pretty easy to guess.

Boston has some amazing food, and my mom and I were really looking forward to having dinner at one of their great restaurants.  We let my daughter pick the restaurant.  She chose P.F. Changs.  HUH??

We can go to P.F. Changs at the mall here!

Plastic Beer 'Glass' from  Samuel Adams commemorating the 119th Boston Marathon.

Plastic Beer ‘Glass’ from
Samuel Adams commemorating the 119th Boston Marathon.

Here is a picture taken at P.F. Changs of my favorite item from the race goodie bag (aside from the sticker)

Leave a Reply

