An Urban Adventure

There is a GM plant near our work that has been shuttered for many years.  The site and facility have been empty and abandoned for a very long time.  A developer has purchased the property (which is huge) and begun demolishing the car manufacturing facility.  I drive by it frequently, and have been interested in the demolition process.  I keep thinking that it would be a good place to try getting some black and white photos.

Yesterday, I gave it a try.

A pile of metal from the demolition of the Doraville GM plant

A pile of metal from the demolition of the Doraville GM plant

I think I may have waited too long.  A few weeks ago, the demolition process looked more interesting.  There were salvage piles all over the place, separated by use and material.  Piles of metal were awaiting recycle pick up.  Machinery was stacked together for an auction.

IMG_20150705_135619

Demolition of GM Doraville Plant. Doraville, GA

By the time I got there yesterday, there were mostly just piles of rubble.

I did get to meet some interesting people though.  One man was riding by on his  bicycle, and stopped to see what I was doing.  We had a nice chat, and he told me that the single building left standing  was going to be a movie studio.  He was also chronicling the demolition with photos.

This may be the site of a movie studio.  I thought the pink doors were odd.  I guess they were once red and had faded to pink.

This may be the site of a movie studio. I thought the pink doors were odd. I guess they were once red and had faded to pink.

Later, I saw a Cadillac parked at one of the locked gates.  I noticed on the license tag, that the owner was a Georgia World War 2 veteran.  I asked him if he  had worked at the plant.  He said he’d been there for 39 years.

World War 2 Veteran in his Cadillac looking at the GM plant where he'd worked for 39 years.

World War 2 Veteran in his Cadillac looking at the GM plant where he’d worked for 39 years.

Here are some more photos.  I was trying for a ‘post industrial/post apocalyptic’ type of thing….Don’t think I hit it!

Rail spur leading into the plant.  There is a living room set across from the graffiti rail car.

Rail spur leading into the plant. There is a living room set across from the graffiti rail car.

IMG_20150705_134853 IMG_20150705_133248

One thought on “An Urban Adventure

  1. Nick Fox

    Thanks for the comment over on my site. Interesting to be on the thread of “What’s been lost” and then to have a look at this. This is good work. Keep it up. Things are always going to change and grow and fall and get up and move again, but it’s important to document the process.

    Best wishes and keep on running,

    Nick

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

