The Trip of a Lifetime Part 2 – Peru

The last half mile of the first day’s hike took me FOREVER to complete.  I was SO tired.  I just wanted to lay down by the side of the road and sleep.  Even running a marathon wasn’t that hard!  I skipped dinner and went straight to sleep in the tent.  Our daughter’s friend did the same thing.  She struggled as much as I did to finish the day’s hike.

1 of our tents in the backyard of a home on the Inca Trail

1 of our tents in the backyard of a home on the Inca Trail

(A side note:  We were climbing at a high altitude.  The original plan of the trip had been to stay a day in Cusco to adjust to the altitude…but we missed our original  flight, and therefore missed the adjustment day.  Some of the signs of altitude sickness are loss of appetite and extreme exhaustion).

The next morning, the friend had diarrhea.  Plus she was super exhausted still after almost 12 hours of sleep.  My husband and I got worried about taking someone else’s child into a really remote part of the planet if she was truly coming down with something bad.  Like dysentery.

We made the decision for Gabby and I to abort the mission. Gabby was almost comically relieved!

A very happy and relieved Gabby

A very happy and relieved Gabby

The guide sent us back with a porter, and we traveled back the way we’d come yesterday.  We kept encountering groups hiking in the opposite direction.  I felt kind of like a failure.  In my mind I referred to our hike as the ‘walk of shame’.

The 'Walk of Shame' back to the beginning of the Inca Trail

The ‘Walk of Shame’ back to the beginning of the Inca Trail

6 thoughts on “The Trip of a Lifetime Part 2 – Peru

  1. Sue Slaght

    Definitely no shame in making a decision around taking care of one’s health, not to mention someone else’s daughter. Sounds like the absolutely right decision given the circumstance.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Michael Rappa

    I’m sorry you had to abandon the hike. I came very close on the second day to doing so myself as I had a bad case of altitude sickness. I hope your daughter’s friend got better and that you were still able to make it to Machu Picchu by train.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

