Tunes and Running

Do you listen to music while you run?  I DO!!  Sometimes I think the chance to listen to music  is the only reason I run.  It’s not….but I really do like to listen to music.  Lots of different types too.

My son and husband recently took a trip out West.  I loaned my tunes to my son because his dad prefers to drive in silence.  I was SO happy when my tunes family got home!

I listen to music on an ipod shuffle.

My ipod shuffle, and a little bit of style....my nails match it!

My ipod shuffle, and a little bit of style….my nails match it!

I use these ear buds, because the ones that came with the shuffle kept falling out of my ears.  Super annoying in the middle of a run!

Wrap around ear buds

Wrap around ear buds

Here are some of my favorite songs:

Motivational Song: I am Superman – R.E.M.  Although I think it’s a love song, one of the lines says “I am Superman. I can do anything.”  That’s how running makes me feel. Here is the YouTube of it:

Current Favorite: Renegades – X Ambassadors.  I listen to this A LOT.  Like maybe 6x a day! Here is the YouTube of it:

Cheesy/Guilty Pleasure Song: Sugar Sugar – The Archies.  Sorry!  Here is the YouTube of it:

Classic Favorite: Midnight Rambler – The Rolling Stones (of course…see my previous post about their concert).  I listen to a live version that is 9:38 long.  I know I better make it around my park loop once in the time it takes to listen to this song!  Here is a YouTube live version (I don’t think it’s very good version though)

Can’t Listen to these types of Music: Country (don’t know why), and Grunge.  I tell my husband and son that if they ever wondered what menstrual cramps felt like, they should listen to grunge.  It sounds like what cramps feel like!

There is an app that I use all the time to figure out what new songs to download.  Whenever i hear a song I like, I can hit the shazam app on my phone to save the song until I can download:

www.shazam.com/apps

What songs do you listen to?  Motivational? Current Fave? Cheesy? Classic?

11 thoughts on “Tunes and Running

  1. getupoffathatcouch

    I have tried once to run without my headphones in at the gym, but I could still hear the music that was playing at the gym and it wasn’t all to my tastes. I find that sometimes when your music is on shuffle something magical happens and a song comes on that really gives you a boost when you most need it. I have so many different types of music on my ipod shuffle. Maybe in a future post I might share some of my favourites.

    K xx

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Karen @ runningfifty

    Thanks for sharing your music favorites. My all time favorite running song is “I Gotta a Feeling” by The Black-Eyed Peas. I listened to it at the end of the Philly Marathon and it was just what I needed to finish those last few miles.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Rebecca Royy Post author

      Oh that’s a good one! I have it too…but it has been off my playlist for a few years, I need to get it back in rotation!

      Like

      Reply
  3. theoldfellowgoesrunning

    LOL, reading your comments, I’ll probably be the minority, but always love my running peeps. :)Have never run with music. I live a very busy life, just love the freedom that running provides, it clears the cobwebs out, I think and marvel of being alive. Yet at the same time, particularly during my long runs, a song will start going through me head. My fear is if I start running with tunes, I may be hooked! 🙂
    Thank you for sharing! 🙂
    ~Carl~

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

