The Top 5 Things I like Best About Running

When I started running, I just wanted to loose a bit of weight.  But then I really got into it.  Here are some of the things that I like best about running:

STRESS RELIEF:

Have you seen these ads?  They’re from ASICS and pretty much sum up what is great about running from an emotional standpoint.

Asics ad

Asics ad

Asics ad

Asics ad

Running really helps clear out all of the negative stuff.

BEING IN SHAPE:

Not much to say here…who doesn’t feel better when they’re in really good shape?

52 year old legs

52 year old legs.

Too bad running doesn’t de-age the face too!

THE CHANCE TO LISTEN TO MUSIC:

I’ve already written a post about how much I love tunes when I run, so I won’t go over it again.  But here is another current favorite: Vance Joy – Mess is Mine.

I’m also thinking about downloading another cheesy one.  What do you think?

That’s bad isn’t it?  But I’m ashamed to say I like it!

BEING OUTSIDE:

Oh the awesome things I get to see!

Yesterday, I saw a deer – which isn’t super unusual – but he saw me too and wagged his tail!!

Just about every morning, I get to see the sunrise.

sunrise

sunrise

FRIENDS

I’ve met and made lots of friends through running.  I’ve also been able to reconnect with my best friend from 6th grade through running.  We found each other through facebook, and met up in Utah (with one of my new running friends) to run our first marathon together at age 50!

St. George Marathon St. George Utah

St. George Marathon
St. George Utah

RACING

I love 5ks (especially ones that are close to my house), I like half marathons, I’m ok on marathons, and don’t really like 10ks….can’t ever seem to get my pace right!

I love the awesome, successful feeling you have after finishing a race.

The camaraderie is also great.

A New Year's Day run

A New Year’s Day run

I am trying something new.  Not sure if I’m doing it right since I’m a newbie.  But I’m trying to do a link up.  Here are the links of 2 blogs that I enjoy reading.

http://mcmmamaruns.com/

http://hohoruns.blogspot.com/2015/08/randoms-thoughts.html

WHAT ARE YOUR FAVORITE THINGS ABOUT RUNNING?

17 thoughts on “The Top 5 Things I like Best About Running

  1. niki

    Yes yes yes to all this! I’ve always said I like running in bad weather, just because I (probably) wouldn’t be outside otherwise. It’s just nice to get outside. And the friends thing is key. I’ve lived in a few different places over the last 20 years, and always felt like I’d finally settled in each place once I had a group of people to run with. My group of running friends help me get out in the first place, and help me enjoy it once I’m there. But I, too, am also getting into running with music- more than I have before. This morning, I crept out before the kids wer up, just so I could get a couple of miles in with my new playlist. This is a new thing! But I can see it becoming more important as I have to do more miles towards the marathon next year.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. neveradullbling

    Ohmigosh! Little Willy! Haven’t heard that in forever! Gonna have to get that one!! These are all excellent reasons to run, and I agree with each of them! You only missed one very important one… the bling! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. Chocolaterunsjudy

    I don’t run with music anymore, but yes to everything else! Although just running doesn’t keep me in shape, I need strength training, too.

    10k is actually one of my favorite distances: you don’t have to carrry fuel, it’s long enough to be challenging, but not as tiring as a half.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Rebecca Royy Post author

      I know on the 10k…so many good parts. Especially the refueling! But I’m some sort of running dummy on pacing in a 10k. I think I must go out as if I’m running a 5k, then just have to suffer through the rest of it! I always end up with a pace that is similar to my half pace.

      Like

      Reply
  4. ivyblue777

    This post is beautiful! I’m still not that into runing, I must say I go for a run only once a week, but I like it. I really hope I will get more into it with time. The ads are also amazing haven’t seen them before! Thanks for sharing . 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

