Drinking Problems (Or I hate Water)

Oh boy…Water is SO BORING to drink all day.

I heard on the radio that we’re supposed to drink a lot of water everyday.  Here is the formula to figure out how much you need:  Take your weight in pounds, divide by 2 and drink that many ounces of water EVERY SINGLE DAY!

16.9 oz. According to the formula, over 4 of these a day!

This water is 16.9 oz. According to the formula, I’d need over 4 of these a day!

In the meantime, all I really want to drink is Coke.  It is truly an addiction for me.  I have reduced my intake from 112 oz a week (one everyday) to 40 oz. a week.  But I don’t think I’ll ever be able to completely quit.

I could drink one or more every single day!

I could drink one or more every single day!

That said, I think sugar drinks are fueling our obesity epidemic here in the US.  I won’t drink Gatorade or Powerade b/c I think they are calorie bombs.  Also, they give me gas (TMI).

When I need to replace electrolytes, I like coconut water…no gas, less calories, more electrolytes.  It is an acquired taste.  You need to get it really cold.  I also like it with a bit of pineapple juice added in.  The only problem is it is super expensive.  This container is $4!

coconut water with pineapple juice

coconut water with pineapple juice

A friend told me about this.  Add a squirt to your water and it makes it WAY more tasty.  It is made from stevia…so no calories and plant based.  This is how I get (or come close to) my water intake goals.

Stur: A Natural Sweetener made from Stevia

Stur: A Natural Sweetener made from Stevia

There are other brands out there.  This is just the one my friend told me about.

The other way I get water is through unsweetened iced tea.  This may be cheating, but I add a little bit of fountain lemonade to it for some flavor.  I have one of these a day.  It’s not Coke, but I’m getting used to it!

Quik Trip Unsweetened Ice Tea with a little bit of lemonade

Quik Trip Unsweetened Ice Tea with a little bit of lemonade

Trying a link up today with http://www.runningwithspoons.com.  She has an awesome looking flourless cherry brownie recipe up today.

Do you get enough water everyday?  Do you have any tips or tricks you can share?

18 thoughts on “Drinking Problems (Or I hate Water)

  1. Pippa @ Mind, Body, Work, Travel

    I drink SO MUCH WATER everyday. (I’m on medication that gives me a dry mouth lol).

    I loooove coconut water- vitacoco actually do an iced latte which is amazing, it’s really sweet from the natural sweetness of the coconut. Also if coconut is expensive where you are, it’s worth trying the world foods aisle of the supermarket, or a world food shop- just be sure to check that it’s 100% pure coconut water without any nasties.

    I always stick coconut water in my protein shakes for an electrolyte/protein boost.

    Also about the coke- cutting down is always better than nothing! I figure why not allow yourself some treats 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. ginismycomfortfood

    I’m completely addicted to seltzer water. We spent a small fortune on it before we got our SodaStream machine. We never use the flavored syrups, just carbonate tab water and we’re good to go. The bubbles make plain water much less boring 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. niki

      is seltzer water fizzy water? we also have a soda stream! 🙂 but we don’t use it now, as the gas cannisters increased in price too much 😦 but i also love fizzy water

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. Tina@GottaRunNow

    I probably drink enough water – I like it. If I keep a glass of water close by, I’m more likely to drink it. Noticed in your previous post that you’ve been married 29 years – me, too! And your trip to Peru – what an adventure!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Rebecca Royy Post author

      Peru really was awesome! I’d love to go back. And yes 29 years….you and I must have been teenagers when we married

      Like

      Reply
  4. neveradullbling

    I gave up Pepsi and soda in 1989, so I had no other choice but to learn to drink lots of water. These days I will have the rare soda when I’m craving bubbles, but I don’t go anywhere without a bottle of water tucked into my purse! Good job cutting back! It is so hard, I know!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Rebecca Royy Post author

      Wow! 1989? That is awesome. You were way ahead on the health curve on that one!
      I gave up gum in 1983…does that count for anything?

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  5. niki

    I drink lots of water. Not too keen on tap water on its own, but I love it with a squirt of lemon juice in. I also love sparkling water. I guess that’s what you mean by seltzer water? We used to have a Sodastream machine, but the gas cannisters got too expensive. So now we just buy a couple of bottles of fizzy water a week. The rest of the time I stick to still water with lemon juice. I used to drink too much diet coke, have never really drunk the non-diet stuff. But I try to avoid even the diet stuff now. Sparkling white wine is my bubbly treat nowadays… 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  6. GiselleR

    I used to a (canned) coke a day habit a few years ago. Definitely not the best time in my life. But you’re right, I was much more excited about rehydration then that I am now haha

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

