So….Not a Real Post. But I Do Have a question

I’m a stickler for mileage goals. I truly plan everything around how to get in my weekly mileage. I have a 5k on Saturday, and I’m planning on nothing, Or really light tomorrow (so that I can have fresh legs for the race). So it doesn’t look like I will hit my mileage goal for the week.

So here is my question… I played tennis on Sunday. My friend kept her Garmin on while we played. And it registered 3 miles. Do these 3 miles count towards my mileage? My inclination is no.

Your thoughts?

13 thoughts on “So….Not a Real Post. But I Do Have a question

    1. Rebecca Royy Post author

      No…a lot of stopping, starting, waiting, switching sides. That’s kinda why I’m inclined only to count it as extra calories burnes

      Like

      Reply
  1. Wendy R.

    Depends on my mood. If I were feeling energetic I’d still put in my 3 miles because technically tennis is cross training and not running. However, there is something to be said for time on your feet too, right?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Rebecca Royy Post author

      Well, I actually did get a run in before the match! I learned the hard way…running must happen before tennis. If you do it the other way, your legs REALLY hurt!

      Like

      Reply
  2. wanderwolf

    I couldn’t decide for a very long time, whether I should count soccer as running or not. I did a lot of running akin to interval training. I counted it as such. My theory is: I track mileage so that I can track how much I’m increasing my mileage in a given week, make sure I don’t do too much too quickly. Counting my soccer mileage does not inflate my weekly score. It means that I’m keeping track.
    If you keep track of the mileage you cover to keep track of preventing injury, etc. then by all means!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. neveradullbling

    Hmmmm… kinda mixed about it. Are your mileage goals directed towards running only, or overall activity? That’s where you have to be honest with yourself. However, as you have a 5K, you have to allow yourself that leniency to take a couple of days off to rest, which means it’s okay to not meet your overall mileage goal. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

