Rain, Rain, and More Rain

image

We have had many, many days of rain in the Southeast.  This weekend, it was WET!

image

The rain had a huge effect on all of the weekend races….

The 10k my husband had signed up for got cancelled.

The half marathon that my work neighbor ran was postponed for an hour while water on the course receded.

Friends who were running in the Disney World Wine and Dine Half got a 10k instead. (Shortened due to heat and or storms in the area.)

Our nearby greenway, which is an awesome place to run was totally flooded.

image

And after many of the day’s races had already been run, the course for the Georgia State High School Cross Country meet got altered due to adverse conditions. (First time ever in 22 years at that location).

image

Despite the rain at the cross country race, we had an awesome time! Our girl didn’t get to run b/c she is still in a boot. Some of our other girl runners were also injured, so our girls didn’t have a spectacular finish. Nevertheless, it was thrilling to watch these young ladies….many of whom we’ve known for most of their lives.

And our boys did great. All predictions had them finishing 5 or 6 but they must be strong mud runners b/c they finished 3rd!!

Here’s hoping for some sun soon!

Today I am trying a link up for the Weekly Wrap hosted by Holly @ HoHoRuns and Tricia @ MissSippiPiddlin.   See rules here. Thank you ladies!

WeeklyWrap

14 thoughts on “Rain, Rain, and More Rain

  1. HoHo Runs

    I experience that rain this weekend too. Those girls had the right idea — mud slide. I must admit, it makes it easier to be sidelined when the weather is nasty. I will struggle if we EVER get those glorious crisp fall days. I feel badly for those who trained for the Disney Wine & Dine. I appreciate you linking with us. I hope you’ll make it a habit.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Rebecca Royy Post author

      Sorry you’re out of commission. Our daughter has a stress fracture and is in a boot so she is out of commission too…I know its so tough for both of you. Thanks for the link up. I try to make a habit of linking up….but sometimes I just don’t have anything to say!

      Like

      Reply
  2. Tricia@MissSippiPiddlin.com

    Ha I almost spit my coffee out at the picture of walking the fish! Isn’t that the truth! I even included the rain in my post and in the title. I also hated that about races in the area. Looking forward to Mr. Sun making an appearance today. He has a lot to dry up! Thanks for joining in again for our Weekly Wrap!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Rebecca Royy Post author

      Hi. Thanks for checking out my blog! I will look at yours tomorrow… And you’re right, it was SO nice to see the sun today!

      Like

      Reply
  3. Debra @HappyRunningSole

    We got a lot of rain in Bama this weekend too. At least it cooled things down a bit. I feel sorry for those who trained for Wine and Dine. Savannah marathoners were diverted to the half because of the heat and humidity. It’s disappointing especially for those who were running their first half or full, but at least the race organizers put their safety first.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Rebecca Royy Post author

      I actually heard one person died at Savannah…not sure if that is true, but I agree with you about safety. thanks for visiting my site. I will check out yours shortly –i’m at work right now 🙂

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

