Devised by Me: A New Training Plan for 2016

I call it the ‘I Want’ training plan.  And it means just that, I’m going to do whatever I want!

Without any big races on the horizon (like last year this time, I was marathon training),

cropped-14295592239461.jpg

Medal from last year’s marathon

 

and without a burning desire to plan any big races, I’m just going to train in ways that make me happy.

giphy

Here’s a for instance…yesterday it was warm outside.  My rational brain said ‘Oh you better run outside…it may be raining the rest of the week.’ But, I didn’t feel like it.   So instead, I went to our gym, and rode on the Arc Trainer for 7.2 miles.  My hair still sweat, so I know I got a good work out.  Plus I had total control of the TV remote, and watched silly shows like Love it or List it, and Judge Judy!

Here’s another for instance.  On Sunday (after a Saturday run with some intentional speedwork), I decided this was going to be an easy junk mile run, or if you want to sound more fancy, a LSD (long slow day).

 

screen-capture-5

Blah BLah BLah…This guy seems a little uptight!  Who cares if you’re out for head clearing junk miles!

But, toward the end of my run, I started feeling pretty good.  I sped up and finished my 9th mile FAST.  Because that’s what I wanted!

One of the best things about running and training is the goal setting.  So don’t get me wrong, I’m still going to set goals.  Right now, the goal that is exciting me is achieving a weekly/annual mileage.  I’ve set these type of goals for the past 2 years, and enjoyed achieving/surpassing them.

odometer_70000.jpg

No I didn’t run 70,000 miles this year!

I’ll keep you posted if I change my training plan.  And check out this site for similar sentiments, and my inspiration for today’s post! http://slackerrunner.com/

 

Today I am trying a  link up with  PattyErika, and Marcia!  Thank you ladies!!

Tuesdays-on-the-Run-2.jpg

9 thoughts on “Devised by Me: A New Training Plan for 2016

      1. wanderwolf

        I took on a similar approach in 2015, thinking id give up after a while. Now, my brain (also controlled by a few OCD tendencies) struggles to wrap itself around the idea of a firm plan again. Especially as someone who has entered the injury-cycle, I found the lack of a plan allows me to step back and accept that I don’t have to train of my body doesn’t feel up to it.
        I found, also, that the body falls into a natural rhythm of hard and easy days.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Rebecca Royy Post author

        I’m glad to hear it has worked for you. I’m excited to get some of the pure joy of running back. Sometimes following a plan feels too much like work!

        Liked by 1 person

  1. HoHo Runs

    I’m declaring no goal setting or resolutions for 2016. Sometimes, the overly ambitious part of me only sets myself up for failure. So, I like your I WANT training plan! I’ll do what I want, when I want. Thanks for linking with the Weekly Wrap! Happy New Year.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Rebecca Royy Post author

      Thanks! Please keep me posted on how its going! I’m really trying to get back the feeling that I had when I first started, when I didn’t know all this technical stuff. And just ran b/c it was fun!

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

