Race Report – sort of, and Other Random Thoughts

 

 

RACE REPORT

We belong to the Atlanta Track Club.  This is one of the largest run clubs in the country, and annually puts on one of the the biggest 10ks in the world-The AJC Peachtree Road Race, a 4th of July race that draws 60,000 participants!

070515_prr_photographs_HS26

Photo from AJC website

The Atlanta Track Club also has smaller races around the city throughout the year.  There was one nearby this past Saturday, so my husband and I decided to run it.  As long as you’re a member, many races are free.

I had worked on Friday night at my second job (P/T at a dress shop).  Lately, this job has been kicking my butt!  I’ve gone from eight hours a week to over 20!  Last week, I had to leave my F/T job in the middle of the day so that I could go home and nap.

So anyway, on the morning of the race, my husband started having an allergy attack.  He took a claritin, and we set off for the race.  The claritin didn’t work, and by the time we were almost to the race, he decided that he wasn’t going to be able to breathe/run.  I was never so gleeful about one of his allergic reactions in my life!! We turned around and went home. I got into bed and took a 2 hour nap!!  Guess I needed it.

A Completely Unrelated Item

Saw this on my way in to work today.  Glad it didn’t happen nearby me when I was out running!!

 

Another New Song

The singer is only 17!

 

 

7 thoughts on “Race Report – sort of, and Other Random Thoughts

  1. 50in50marathonquest

    love the pic of the garbage truck – there’s got to be some smartass meme to be made 🙂 i’ve heard of that Peachtree run, it looks like a great experience…are you running it this year?

    Like

    Reply
    1. Rebecca Royy Post author

      You are welcome to use the garbage truck pick if you can think of something clever! We have run the peachtree before. It is a very fun road race! Not running it this year. There are starting corrals based on time. I am not qualified to get into the corral that I want so I’m acting bratty by not racing!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

