A Really Tough Hike

On Monday, we went for a hike. Same general area as our most recent hike…about an hour from here at the beginning of the Appalachian mountain range. The trail-or should I say “trail”- was an out and back to some waterfalls. Total distance was 7 miles.

The Google listing described the trail as a difficulty level of moderate to strenuous. Well let me tell you, it was the most technical trail I’ve ever hiked!! And by technical, I mean roots, and rocks and creeks to Ford. And just as a frame of reference, I have hiked for 2 days on the Inca trail.

image

image

It was a beautiful hike along side Panther Creek In Habersham county in Northeast Georgia. At times, we hiked next to the creek, at other times we were 40 feet above the creek, hiking a narrow path built into the side of a steep valley wall. At certain points, there really wasn’t much of a trail at all…we literally climbed strategic tree roots to find the next part of the path.

We came to a flat, un-rocky, non rooty portion of the trail, and ran both out and back. There were lots of people on the trail that day, and we were by far the oldest.

image

By the time we made it to the falls, it had started raining heavily. Now the trail was slippery and muddy (oh why did I wear my brand new Adidas Boost running shoes?).

Actually, “we” didn’t make it to the falls. Only my husband did. The last stretch of trail before the falls the ‘path’ was straight across a single downward- sloping piece of giant granite outcropping. It was wet and slick looking. I have the world’s longest tail bone. I could only imagine slipping and cracking my tail bone, and not being able to get the 3.5 miles back to the car, and not being able to run…. so I said no thanks, I’ll look at the view from here…through the trees.

image

There was poison ivy everywhere. I know we brushed up against it a thousand times. I consulted Dr Google, and apparently poison ivy rash doesn’t show up until 7 -10 after exposure. So now we are on poison ivy watch. Every little itch is cause for hysteria!

Overall, a really good hike. Beautiful, strenuous, rewarding…

I have to say though that I was super
worn out afterwards. Maybe this had something to do with the fact that I’d run 11 miles just before the hike?

10 thoughts on “A Really Tough Hike

    1. Rebecca Royy Post author

      I know! Thanks. Further research on Dr Google revealed that you do t get the rash unless you’ve been exposed to the internal oil. So of we didn’t break any leaves or stems, we should be good!

      Like

      Reply
    1. Rebecca Royy Post author

      Oh boy 98!!! That’s tough. I saw the falls through the trees. I was like a skittish pony and wouldn’t cover the last bit over straight rock that was slick with rain! I am happy to say my tail bone is still intact !

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Rebecca Royy Post author

        Have you even hiked fort yargo? A lot of the path is around a lake. We hike every year and have to jump in the lake during the hike. The water is surprisingly clear for a Georgia lake!

        Like

      2. Rebecca Royy Post author

        Oh! Good to know. We’ll have to check it out. We really like hiking in the north Georgia mountains too. Maybe wait until it’s a bit cooler!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

