In Praise of Cross Country

This past weekend, we took the world’s quickest road trip to Florida to watch our girl’s first high school cross country meet.  7 hours there, and 7 back to spectate at 21 minutes of racing.  Sounds ridiculous, but it was AWESOME!! (OK, we actually stayed longer than 21 minutes)

I don’t even know where to begin to start when praising this sport…We became fans when our son ran cross country.  Thank goodness for us (and her too) that our daughter is now doing it!

The race -- aren't the SO cute?

The race — aren’t they SO cute?

Here are some of the reasons I think cross country is so great:

  1. The kids learn important life traits – such as goal setting, preparation, and problem solving.
  2. Although it is obviously a super competitive activity, the kids are SOOO supportive of each other– Both with teammates as well as competitors.  I saw my girl, and the girl she had beat by inches (from another school) laughing and carrying on when they were receiving their ribbons.
  3. The sport seems to attract top notch kids…school leaders, high grade earners, no druggies…
  4. It introduces the kids to running. Hopefully they stick with it, or get back to it as they age.
  5. The effort these kids put out when racing is awe inspiring.  I had a friend say to me “how could you not be inspired to run after watching them?” And I agree…you should go watch a meet if you never have!
At the end of the race...ready to throw up

At the end of the race…ready to throw up

The most awesome thing is the race start.  I know this is sappy, but it almost always moves me to tears.  It is the embodiment of hope.  Now combine the start with a sunrise and you have guaranteed tears here!

Start of the race at sunrise

Start of the race at sunrise

One time, I told my daughter and her friend ‘Fastboy’ that if I had a time machine, I’d go back and run cross country in high school!

Here is a link to an article  that nicely explains the greatness of cross country:

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/paige-smith/an-open-letter-to-my-high-school-cross-country-coach_b_6250460.html

7 thoughts on “In Praise of Cross Country

  1. niki

    Loved reading this. Our eldest has just started to run. He’s still so young but he loves it. It’s the joy most of all that I want him to retain (but he is rather competitive too 😉 )

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
      1. niki

        ha! yes. True… but you see I HATED running when I was a kid. I was so self-conscious. I was never skinny or fast. I dreaded having to do X-country in PE lessons. Yet now, it’s the bit I love most (getting out in the mud and rain and running around). So… it really is a double joy to see son enjoying it. The others might not, I guess, and that’s okay, too. But the eldest seems to take after his papa and never stays still…. 😉 Must be lovely to enjoy it so much as a family like that. I’m hoping we get to do that later…

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Pippa @ Mind, Body, Work, Travel

    Ah amazing!! I was never a runner at school, and I absolutely hated any form of running race on sports day. How different it could have been if I’d actually been taught to run properly! I really think it’s something all kids should be taught. Otherwise you decide to run eventually, go out too fast and end up wheezing and in pain!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Rebecca Royy Post author

      I never ran in school either! Now I wish I did! I’m kinda fast-ish….what could I have done if I hadn’t waited until I was 46 to start??

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

